Alexandra Ivanova, Harpsichord

Der Titel „Sentiment“ spielt zum einen auf die Titelwelt der Clavecinisten an. Oft ist dort „zärtliches“ Spiel verlangt, oft beschwören ihre Titel Seelenregungen oder antike Bilder herauf. Zum anderen bezieht sich der Titel auf zwei Stücke der lettischen Komponistin Anita Mieze, die in Basel lebt und lehrt. Ihre Stücke „Sentiment I“ und „II“ sowie „Ansichtskarte“ ergänzen ein Programm aus Stücken des clavecinistischen Hochadels, vielleicht bewusst unter Ausschluss des dominierenden François Couperin.

Continue reading

BEETHOVEN, L. van: Piano Concerto No. 1 (arr. V. Lachner) / Symphony No. 2 (version for piano trio)

Hanna Shybayeva, Animato String Quartet

In Beethoven’s 250th anniversary year, Naxos continue to explore the byways of his compositions with a seldom heard arrangement he made of the Second Symphony. It was published three years after the symphony’s premiere in 1802, and was intended for performance in those parts of Europe where there was no access to a symphony orchestra. Now offered as a Piano Trio, it was a total thought-through arrangement of the original instrumentation shared between the three musicians, and in this format it is a highly desirable score with a sparkling scherzo.

Continue reading


Tatiana Chulochnikova

“Ms. Chulochnikova played it with impressive brilliance, articulating cleanly, with virtuosic double stops, carefully shaping the polyphonic lines, creating an ebb and flow that carried the listener along.” [Bach’s Toccata and Fugue] Classical Sonoma